Event

Psst! Secretly, I am Yukihira Soma!

I should have write this on my ‘About’ page but oh well.


 

I LOVE COOKING.

There. I’ve said it.

It is no secret that one of my top hobbies is to cook and hopefully create something to please my ridiculous appetite. I started very young with one of the easiest Asian dish, an omelette.

In my teenage years I spent quite a lot of time observing my mom’s cooking. ’twas fun indeed.

It was around the time I started university – clearly nobody was going to cook for me.

I’m insanely DIY (Do It Yourself). If it’s humanly possible; I’ll do it with all I’ve got.

They say that cooking is like chemistry; you mix and match to get something cool. I see it that way at least.

Though, I don’t go hardcore to make anything to please Gordon Ramsey. I cook so I can not stay hungry, as simple as that can be.


 

I did say that I started watching anime in my first year of university, that much is true. A few years later my I (and I think you, too) got to watch Shokugeki no Soma.
Boy. That thing was definitely foodgasm. Later on I had my best buddy watched it.

His reaction to the first minute ecchi was gold. He had never actually watched anime before so, yeah…

Bleh, let’s just get to the important part.
So after we finished it. We began to actually make food with the same method shown in the anime. Though, there are recipes from the manga.

Crazy right?

We didn’t think so. The don Soma used to battle Nikumi – we recreated that and it was meaty delicious! It was also the most practical dish, too.

It was from then; my passion for cooking got fiery!

My 21st birthday present from my best buddy was no other than an expensive chef’s knife which I keep in my own room; not even my flat mate gets to touch this!

Not that he would want to – it’s SHARP.

The Chef's Tool
The Chef’s Tool!

Our way of food now is to go around restaurants in the city and later on attempt to recreate the dishes. Most of the time he pays for dining out and I buy the ingredients for recreations. Are you now jealous of our friendship? 😛

When I’m alone I will just go buy food from anywhere because I’m a cheap bastard.


 

Though most of what I’ve been making are Asian food and my precious butter chicken curry, as of late I’m finding myself making quick meals that are not so much Asian.

Take the past week, especially today for example.


A chicken wrap!

 

Er, this isn’t a recipe but rather showing you what I do to get food. I get hungry and so do you! 😀

So I got me some crumbed chicken schnitzels and hand peeled onions. In the oven they go! I used grilling mode instead of baking.

I’ve cut carrots into julienne and heat to the point that they are no longer stiff.

Look at the wraps now, slap a large piece of cabbage and carrots in there.

Wrap One

 

Ah. I forgot the sauce and damn it. I ran out of my favorite pasta sauce so I used aioli instead.

Wrap Two

 

A quarter hour later and surely the chicken and onions should be nicely grilled. Put them there!

Wrap Four
And more aioli!

 

I thought that having two layers of cabbage will indeed make it look healthier.

Wrap Five

 

Now, the best part – wrapping the wrap.

Wrap SIx
Okay. That looks crap.

I think I need to work on food presentation to even make it into Master Chef.

Never mind. I didn’t actually care. After all, I was making these so I could actually eat them.

Oh, did I mention that I was making two wraps?!

 

Wrap Seven
終わりよ!

 

13 thoughts on “Psst! Secretly, I am Yukihira Soma!

  1. That chicken wrap looks good! I have been getting into cooking a lot more lately. My favorite is to make homemade pizza. Except I like to give mine a little kick, by putting habaneros onto my pizza. I look forward to seeing more of your recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you just assume my gender?!

      Jokes aside, I’m just as dense as the next protagonist when it comes to real life romance! Obviously cooking will only get me far. 😂

      Like

  2. So the insult, “go make me a sandwich, bitch” is not going to work on you though. I like mine with ketchup and soy sauce.
    I suck at cooking, but I do cook. Sometimes its raw though, but I still eat it. I can’t waste food, given how expensive they are now. XD
    That wrap looks tasty. So you pursuing this as a career or something?
    BTW, Yakitate Japan has amazing food but it’s a baking anime. The ED always makes me hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those wraps look awesome! 😀 I came across volume 1 of the manga for that series, and I really enjoyed it. I didn’t know they made an anime of it; definitely gonna watch!

    I love cooking as well, it’s a lot of fun (and also a nice way for me to relax after a long day) and it’s even more rewarding to share what you cook with others! (Chicken butter curry sounds delicious, btw. Do you have a recipe?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, that’s right!

      Just like random anime posts on my blog, I get just as much joy from having others see my budget level cooking.

      As for the butter chicken – boy that thing can be complex but I’ll see what I can do. Haha!

      Like

      1. Nothing wrong with cooking on a budget, or with whatever is on hand! Creative cooking is the most fun, and sometimes the results can be surprisingly tasty 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

